Posted in Uncategorized

One Short Day

Family vacations are usually more stressful than relaxing, but this was one vacation I will never forget. That was a terribly cheesy opening. Can I start over? Thank you. Holy moly I went to Disney World last week! It all happened so fast that I am still trying to recover from the initial shock of it all. My love of Disney has only increased over the years, and it had been seven years since I visited the happiest place on earth. This past Monday I was able to spend the entire day at the Magic Kingdom in Orlando, FL, and I’m pretty sure it was the best Monday of my life. It was all thanks to a close friend of mine, whom I hadn’t seen for eight years, though we stayed in touch even after moving apart. Seeing this sort of a “long lost friend” and running around Magic Kingdom like ten-year-olds was a day too perfect to describe, so here are several pictures instead. I tried my best to capture some of my favorite moments from the day, and I would have been able to do a lot more had I a real camera instead of just an iPhone. There was also plenty more I did than the pictures indicate, including riding as many rides as possible and meeting several of Disney World’s finest: Gaston, Tinker Bell, Cinderella’s Stepsisters, Peter Pan, Belle, Ariel, and Mary Poppins. And just like everyone’s favorite British nanny, my one short day at Disney World was practically perfect in every way.



Flying over London on Peter Pan’s Flight
img_4266
The Haunted Mansion is still my favorite ride

img_4264

img_4268
Rapunzel’s Tower
The Seven Dwarfs’ Mine Train
Prince Eric’s Castle
Ursula from the Little Mermaid ride
I’m simply mad about this greenery
And here come all the pictures from the Festival of Fantasy Parade
Cinderella and Prince Charming
Prince Naveen and Tiana
Anna and Elsa
Flynn Rider vs. Maximus on the Ugly Duckling Float
Ariel is just so flippin’ adorable
Wendy and Peter aboard the Jolly Rodger
Tink being Tink
I caught the Mad Hatter falling down
It wouldn’t be Disney without these two
Maleficent’s Army
I’m really proud of this one.
The finale was the best fireworks show I’ve ever seen in my life

 

Despite all the magic, the vacation itself was bittersweet—a mixture of unexpected surprises and unspoken sadness. Disney World was a wonderful experience to be sure, but it was only a nice bonus in comparison to the time I was able to spend with two friends of mine, friends I hadn’t seen in 7 to 8 years. Saying goodbye without any idea of when I will see them again was a heavy counterweight to my excitement. How do you describe what it’s like to suddenly be sitting next to a friend you haven’t kept in touch with for 7 years, trying to build a sandcastle on the seashore? How can I explain what it’s like, watching the waves lap up and slowly melt our little attempt at a fortress, realizing that time may be doing the same thing to my friendships? It’s a frustrating feeling. If anything, it made me cling to the moments I had, made me appreciate the chances life does allow, even when there is sorrow wrapped up in the middle of my joy.

So yes, Disney World was great.

But long lost friends are better.

Yours,

—A. C.

Author:

1 Corinthians 13:12.

One thought on “One Short Day

  1. The last time I was at Disney was the best Disney trip ever. I was there about a week on a leadership experience. I took two leadership classes there and went with my school and through the eyes of Disney took two leadership classes and went behind the scenes and that was fun to do. Whenever we weren’t in classes, we were to free to be at the parks so in one week got to visit all the parks and my autograph book got about twenty characters to sign and that trip made me a bigger Disney fan. I felt like a five year on that trip

    Like

Leave a Reply

